Riding bikes for money

I'm still new to Portland but everyone I've asked so far is saying there are no independent courier collectives here in the city. Is this true? And if so is there a reason? City laws too strict to keep one afloat? Taxes for independent contractors too high? Educate my azz plz.

(Also if there's no reason and there's just a void here who would be interested in going around to food spots and seeing if they'd hire a courier collective to make their deliveries?)

Comments

• JoshJosh Riding Level: 823
    edited September 2015
    Unfortunately you're not going to find any (reliable) info about that on here... Go to the downtown Stumptown around 8am during the week, and talk to those dudes about it. Wait is that even the regular morning spot anymore? Anyways, the attitudes might be a little salty, especially if you don't know anyone. A good guy to ask would be Will. He's definitely been the most outgoing messenger that I've been in contact with.
  • CHIWIZARDCHIWIZARD Riding Level: 8
    @Josh said:
    Unfortunately you're not going to find any (reliable) info about that on here... Go to the downtown Stumptown around 8am during the week, and talk to those dudes about it. Wait is that even the regular morning spot anymore? Anyways, the attitudes might be a little salty, especially if you don't know anyone. A good guy to ask would be Will. He's definitely been the most outgoing messenger that I've been in contact with.
    Thanks for the info! Yea I know I'm new, I'm not trying to step on any toes or whatever, just figured I'd ask here and see if I could at least get pointed in the right direction. Maybe if I find out anything I'll come through in the comments here and drop some knowledge.
  • rofljenrofljen Riding Level: 2,438
    I don't think showing up at a restaurant and offering to deliver will do any good. But, I mean, I could be totally wrong.
    @rofljen said: